2012 pritzker prize ceremony in beijing, china
2012 pritzker prize ceremony in beijing, china 2012 pritzker prize ceremony in beijing, china
oct 28, 2011

2012 pritzker prize ceremony in beijing, china

‘guangzhou opera house’ by 2004 pritzker laureate and pritzker juror zaha hadid, located in the guangdong province, china image © iwan baan see designboom’s original coverage of this project here.




in a joint announcement by both guo jinlon, mayor of beijing and thomas j. pritzker, chairman of the hyatt foundation, beijing, china has been recently revealed as this year’s host city for the pritzker prize award ceremony. the most prestigious award in the architectural profession, the 2012 pritzker prize will be given to the next recipient in an urban context which features a prominent number of structures designed by previous laureates.


nearby landmarks include the ‘beijing national stadium’ (conversationally referred to as the bird’s nest), the site of the track and field events of the 2008 beijing olympics designed by the 2001 pritzker recipients jacques herzog and pierre de meuron of the swiss practice herzog & de meuron. rem koolhaas of dutch practice OMA produced the ‘CCTV headquarters’, a monumental tower defined open void by a central open void and cantilevered upper levels. the exact location of the event has not been decided but will be of historical significance. a series of seminars and building tours of old and new architectural buildings will be offered for guests and program delegates.

‘beijing’s national stadium’ designed by 2001 pritzker laureates herzog & de meuron in beijing, china image © wojtek gurak see designboom’s original coverage of this project here.




‘over the three decades of prize-giving, we have held ceremonies in fourteen different countries, in venues ranging from the white house in washington DC to todai-ji temple in nara, japan. the tradition of moving the event to world sites of architectural significance was established to emphasize that the prize is international, the laureates having been chosen from 16 different nations to date. this will be our 34th event marking the first time we have gone to china.’ – thomas j. pritzker


in reference to his city being selected as this year’s host, beijing mayor guo jinlon stated: ‘the pritzker architecture prize is the most recognized award in the architectural field throughout the world. we believe holding this event in beijing will further raise the awareness of the pritzker prize in china, and promote the development of the architectural industry in beijing and china as a whole. hosting the ceremony in beijing will also attract many globally reputable architecture firms and architects to participate in building beijing as the most liveable city and famous cultural capital.’

(left) ‘CCTV headquarters’ by rem koolhaas of OMA in beijing, china image © rudenoon see designboom’s original coverage of this project here. (right) ‘shenzhen stock exchange’ currently under construction by rem koolhaas of OMA in shenzhen, china see designboom’s original coverage of this project here.

zaha hadid, the 2004 pritzker prize laureate has been added to the pritzker prize selection jury in september 2011 image © simone cecchetti see designboom’s original coverage here.

justice stephen breyer has been added to the pritzker prize selection jury in september 2011image © steve petteway photographer, supreme court of the united states see designboom’s original coverage here.


list of previous laureates:


1979  philip johnson 1980  luis barragán of mexico 1981  james stirling of the united kingdom 1982  kevin roche 1983  ieoh ming pei 1984  richard meier 1985  hans hollein of austria 1986  gottfried böhm of germany 1987  kenzo tange of japan 1988  oscar niemeyer of brazil and gordon bunshaft 1989  frank gehry 1990  aldo rossi of italy 1991  robert venturi 1992  alvaro siza of portugal 1994  christian de portzamparc of france 1995  tadao ando of japan 1996  rafael moneo of spain 1997  sverre fehn of norway 1998  renzo piano of italy 1999  norman foster of the uk 2000  rem koolhaas of the netherlands 2002  glenn murcutt of australia 2003  jørn utzon of denmark 2004  zaha hadid of the uk 2005  thom mayne 2006  paulo mendes da rocha of brazil 2007  richard rogers of the uk 2008  jean nouvel of france 2009  peter zumthor of switzerland 2010  partners kazuyo sejima and ryue nishizawa of sanaa, inc. in japan 2011  eduardo souto de moura of portugal

    have something to add? share your thoughts in our comments section below.
    all comments are reviewed for the purposes of moderation before publishing.

    comments policy
    LOG IN
    designboom's comment policy guidelines
    generally speaking, if we publish something, it's because we're genuinely interested in the subject. we hope you'll share this interest and if you know even more about it, please share! our goal in the discussion threads is to have good conversation and we prefer constructive opinions. we and our readers have fun with entertaining ones. designboom welcomes alerts about typos, incorrect names, and the like.
    the correction is at the discretion of the post editor and may not happen immediately.

    what if you disagree with what we or another commenter has to say?
    let's hear it! but please understand that offensive, inappropriate, or just plain annoying comments may be deleted or shortened.

    - please do not make racist, sexist, anti-semitic, homophobic or otherwise offensive comments.
    - please don't personally insult the writers or your fellow commenters.
    - please avoid using offensive words, replacing a few letters with asterisks is not a valid workaround.
    - please don't include your website or e-mail address in your comments for the purpose of self-promotion.
    - please respect jury verdicts and do not discuss offensively on the competition results
    (there is only one fist prize, and designboom usually asks renown professionals to help us to promote talent.
    in addition to the awarded designs, we do feel that almost all deserve our attention, that is why we publish
    the best 100-200 entries too.)

    a link is allowed in comments as long as they add value in the form of information, images, humor, etc. (links to the front page of your personal blog or website are not okay). unwelcome links (to commercial products or services of others, offensive material etc. ) will be redacted. and, ... yes, spam gets banned. no, we do not post fake comments.


    a diverse digital database that acts as a valuable guide in gaining insight and information about a product directly from the manufacturer, and serves as a rich reference point in developing a project or scheme.

    architecture news

    keep up with our daily and weekly stories
    502,528 subscribers
    - see sample
    - see sample