ai weiwei dumbass music video ai weiwei dumbass music video
may 22, 2013

ai weiwei dumbass music video


ai weiwei dumbass music video: the world’s favorite chinese dissident is back again with another creative artistic endeavor that is sure to entertain the masses and poke fun at his nation’s officials. we see the start of a trend, beginning with the release of his ‘gangnam style’ parody (see designboom’s coverage here) followed by a cameo performance with renowned musician elton john, and now a heavy metal album and — as confirmed from the artist himself — a second album focusing on softer-toned love songs.


(updated from the original article on april 18,2013)


in his first official music video the chinese artist teams up with his friend and rock musician zuoxiao zuzhou — who was also questioned during weiwei’s disappearance – for the instrumentals, where weiwei takes charge of the lyrics and vocals. watch below to see the full version of ‘dumbass’.



ai wei wei dumbass music video
video courtesy ai weiwei



‘I really loved it’, says weiwei. ‘I had to make so much effort; I have never known music before. I’m really very passionate. to tell you the truth, I never listened to music. then, during my detention, the guards were so bored they kept saying to me, ‘can you sing a song?’ I felt so sad I couldn’t sing any except the revolutionary ones we had to learn when we were growing up … it would have made the time seem much shorter. after I came out, I realised I had never really listened to music or sung, so I decided to make an album. I know so many artists and musicians and they were really supportive.’

portrait of famed artist ai weiweiimage via



at this point the album is being mixed and will be released after the chinese artist reconvenes with elton john for advice on the distribution and a critique. as ai weiwei describes with regards to his experience with elton john: ‘I was impressed by his very warm heart and passion and the expression of the music, so that gave me a clear push for making my own album. I will send it to him and ask his opinion. I haven’t asked him for advice – I will surprise him. the eclectic recording contains nine tracks. some are like heavy metal, some are more punkish, and some are more pop.’

brian clarke’s poster published in the times supporting the release of the chinese artistimage © brian clarke

  • I don’t care that he is still milking his ” victim of big government” status. Nice tunes but as far as the moustache go it is way too unruly for my taste.

    Alexander K says:

have something to add? share your thoughts in our comments section below.

comments policy
designboom's comment policy guidelines
generally speaking, if we publish something, it's because we're genuinely interested in the subject. we hope you'll share this interest and if you know even more about it, please share! our goal in the discussion threads is to have good conversation and we prefer constructive opinions. we and our readers have fun with entertaining ones. designboom welcomes alerts about typos, incorrect names, and the like.
the correction is at the discretion of the post editor and may not happen immediately.

what if you disagree with what we or another commenter has to say?
let's hear it! but please understand that offensive, inappropriate, or just plain annoying comments may be deleted or shortened.

- please do not make racist, sexist, anti-semitic, homophobic or otherwise offensive comments.
- please don't personally insult the writers or your fellow commenters.
- please avoid using offensive words, replacing a few letters with asterisks is not a valid workaround.
- please don't include your website or e-mail address in your comments for the purpose of self-promotion.
- please respect jury verdicts and do not discuss offensively on the competition results
(there is only one fist prize, and designboom usually asks renown professionals to help us to promote talent.
in addition to the awarded designs, we do feel that almost all deserve our attention, that is why we publish
the best 100-200 entries too.)

a link is allowed in comments as long as they add value in the form of information, images, humor, etc. (links to the front page of your personal blog or website are not okay). unwelcome links (to commercial products or services of others, offensive material etc. ) will be redacted. and, ... yes, spam gets banned. no, we do not post fake comments.


a diverse digital database that acts as a valuable guide in gaining insight and information about a product directly from the manufacturer, and serves as a rich reference point in developing a project or scheme.

art news