azuma makoto represents the stages of decomposition using flowers + leaves
azuma makoto represents the stages of decomposition using flowers + leaves azuma makoto represents the stages of decomposition using flowers + leaves
nov 26, 2015

azuma makoto represents the stages of decomposition using flowers + leaves

azuma makoto represents the stages of decomposition using flowers and leaves
all images courtesy of azuma makoto




in japanese art, the ancient kusozu style refers to a specific series of watercolor paintings that graphically illustrate the various stages of human decomposition just before, and after, death. these works of art, inspired by buddhist beliefs, intended to stimulate thinking about the ephemeral nature of the physical world.


with a combined interest in this unavoidable temporality, and the creative medium of botanical species, japanese artist azuma makoto has represented nine stages of decomposition using flowers and leaves. the project ‘box flowers’ follows the visual journey of a sculptural square made up of colorful blossoms as is slowly wilts and dies over time. the vegetation gradually morphs from a lush and vibrant shape filled with small red roses and pastel purple florets to a flattened, dull object that secretes a brown fluid on the ground surrounding it. ‘humans live with flowers on their birthday, for the marriage or anniversary, as a greeting, and of course their funeral,’ makoto says. ‘here, the viewer can 
see the transformation as the flowers go through their life, instead.’

stage 1: vibrant flowers flourish in the sculptural shape of a square

a detail of stage 1 shows the lush vegetation filling the frame

stage 2: the square slowly begins to flatten as flowers on the lower levels wilt

the flowers on the base of the sculptural slowly begin to wilt

stage 3: more compression, as the entire square of flowers are on the verge of death

while the flowers are not dead yet, their physical shift towards it makes them wither and wilt

stage 4: the botanical life begins to discolor, turning the entire sculpture a shade of brown

a detail of stage 4 shows some of the petals falling off their stems

stage 5: a brown liquid starts to ooze from the sculptural form

the flowers, some barely clinging to life, begin to secrete a brownish fluid

stage 6: almost all of the flowers have died, and the brown liquid pours from the flattened form

a detail of stage 6 shows the flower petals and leaves wilted and withering away

stage 7: barely any flowers are left with color, and the compressed form is almost completely decomposed

decomposition sets in as the dead flowers at the bottom begin to rot

stage 8: the liquid continues to stream down the length of floor surrounding it

the fluid begins to turn into a sticky paste

stage 9: the original form has undergone a complete physical transformation after the flowers’ death

the final shot shows the extent of the waste produced by the decomposing flowers

    have something to add? share your thoughts in our comments section below.
    all comments are reviewed for the purposes of moderation before publishing.

    comments policy
    LOG IN
    designboom's comment policy guidelines
    generally speaking, if we publish something, it's because we're genuinely interested in the subject. we hope you'll share this interest and if you know even more about it, please share! our goal in the discussion threads is to have good conversation and we prefer constructive opinions. we and our readers have fun with entertaining ones. designboom welcomes alerts about typos, incorrect names, and the like.
    the correction is at the discretion of the post editor and may not happen immediately.

    what if you disagree with what we or another commenter has to say?
    let's hear it! but please understand that offensive, inappropriate, or just plain annoying comments may be deleted or shortened.

    - please do not make racist, sexist, anti-semitic, homophobic or otherwise offensive comments.
    - please don't personally insult the writers or your fellow commenters.
    - please avoid using offensive words, replacing a few letters with asterisks is not a valid workaround.
    - please don't include your website or e-mail address in your comments for the purpose of self-promotion.
    - please respect jury verdicts and do not discuss offensively on the competition results
    (there is only one fist prize, and designboom usually asks renown professionals to help us to promote talent.
    in addition to the awarded designs, we do feel that almost all deserve our attention, that is why we publish
    the best 100-200 entries too.)

    a link is allowed in comments as long as they add value in the form of information, images, humor, etc. (links to the front page of your personal blog or website are not okay). unwelcome links (to commercial products or services of others, offensive material etc. ) will be redacted. and, ... yes, spam gets banned. no, we do not post fake comments.


    a diverse digital database that acts as a valuable guide in gaining insight and information about a product directly from the manufacturer, and serves as a rich reference point in developing a project or scheme.

    art news

    keep up with our daily and weekly stories
    489,442 subscribers
    - see sample
    - see sample