Introducing the Kinderspace: Architecture for Children's Development competition, an architectural challenge dedicated to crafting innovative educational spaces that enhance early childhood learning. As young children navigate their formative years, the environment in which they learn plays a pivotal role in their cognitive, emotional, and social development. Traditional educational settings often do not fully cater to the dynamism of early childhood, potentially stifling creativity and exploration.

This competition seeks to transform kindergarten design by creating environments that are not only safe and functional but also stimulating and inclusive. Participants are encouraged to conceive spaces that foster learning, creativity, and community interaction, using sustainable and innovative design solutions that promote healthy development.

With the flexibility to select a site within their home country, participants have the unique opportunity to integrate their designs within diverse community settings, potentially revitalizing underutilized areas. The Kinderspace competition is more than just designing educational facilities; it's about enriching communities and enhancing the educational landscapes to nurture the youngest members of our society. Participants are invited to think beyond conventional boundaries and develop spaces that inspire, educate, and connect.


3 winning proposals, 2 special award recipients and 6 honourable mentions will be selected. Buildner will award a total of 10,000 € in prize money to competition winners as follows:

1st Prize - 5,000 €
2nd Prize - 2,500 €
3rd Prize - 1,000 €
+ 6 honourable mentions

Buildner Student Award - 1000 €
Buildner Sustainability Award - 500 €


Early Bird Registration: MAY 14 – JUNE 19
Advance Registration: JUNE 20 – SEPTEMBER 11
Last Minute Registration: SEPTEMBER 12 – NOVEMBER 13

Final registration deadline: NOVEMBER 13, 2024
Closing date for submission: DECEMBER 18, 2024 (11:59 p.m.LONDON TIME)
Announcement of the winners: FEBRUARY 20, 2025



cash prize award: $ 10,850.00 USD