Introducing the Architect's Chair Competition, an exciting opportunity for architects and designers to showcase their versatility and creativity by designing a signature piece of furniture. Inspired by the long-standing tradition of iconic architects creating custom furniture as an extension of their architectural work, this competition challenges participants to distill their design approach into its core components and represent their unique style in a single piece of furniture – the architect's chair.

Throughout history, renowned architects such as Charles and Ray Eames, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Marcel Breuer, and Arne Jacobsen have successfully designed iconic chairs that embody their distinct design philosophies. The Architect's Chair #3 competition seeks to continue this tradition by inviting architects and designers to explore new materials, construction techniques, and ergonomic solutions within the constraints of a chair design, ultimately producing a functional and aesthetically compelling piece of furniture.

As the third installment in a new series of competitions focused on custom furniture design, the Architect's Chair #3 competition encourages participants to think beyond the boundaries of architecture and delve into the realm of product design. By creating a signature chair that reflects their individual style and vision, architects and designers can demonstrate their versatility and contribute to the ongoing dialogue between architecture and design. So, take a seat and let your creativity unfold in the Architect's Chair #3 competition!


3 winning proposals, 2 special award recipients and 6 honourable mentions will be selected. Buildner will award a total of 7,000 € in prize money to competition winners as follows:

1st Prize - 3,000 €
2nd Prize - 1,500 €
3rd Prize - 1,000 €
+ 6 honourable mentions

Buildner Student Award - 1,000 €
Buildner Sustainability Award - 500 €


Early Bird Registration: July 2 – September 12
Advance Registration: September 13 – November 6
Last Minute Registration: November 7 – January 15

Final registration deadline: January 15, 2025
Closing date for submission: February 18, 2025 (11:59 p.m. LONDON TIME)
Announcement of the winners: March 25, 2025



cash prize award: $ 7,570.00 USD