today the 2011 brit insurance designs of the year shortlisted nominees were announced.

in its fourth year, the awards were established to acknowledge a range of projects  from various disciplines including: architecture, fashion, furniture, graphics, interactive, product and transport design.

for 2011, founder and first director of the design museum stephen bayley returns to chair the jury, joined by art and design curator janice blackburn, graphic design mark farrow, novelist will self, pro vice chancellor of kingston university penny sparke and simon waterfall, co-founder of digital agency poke.

an exhibition of the nominated projects goes on show at the design museum london on wednesday, february 16th, 2011.

2011 brit insurance design awards shortlist ‘tape installations’ by foruse/numen images © designboom

architecture nominees 1111 lincoln road – robert wennett / herzog & de meuron; a forest for a moon dazzler – benjamin garcia saxe; balancing barn – mvrdv // co-architect: mole architects; burj khalif – skidmore, owings & merrill llp (som); concrete canvas shelters – concrete canvas (peter brewin, william crawford and phillip greer); ladakh commonwealth peace pavilion and classroom – sergio palleroni / basic initiative; media-tic building – enric ruiz-geli / cloud 9; nottingham contemporary – caruso st john architects; open-air-library magdeburg – karo architekten; stonebridge hillside hub – edward cullinan architects; tape installations – numen / for use; uk pavilion, shanghai expo 2010 – thomas heatherwick studio; university of oxford: department of earth sciences – wilkinson eyre architects; vitrahaus – weil am rhine – herzog & de meuron; void house – gon zifroni in collaboration with pom-archi.

2011 brit insurance design awards shortlist ‘vitrahaus’ by herzog & de meuron images © designboom

fashion nominees comme des garcons trading museum tokyo – designed and conceived by rei kawakubo gareth pugh spring/summer ’11- gareth pugh; lanvin spring/summer ’11 – alber elbaz; margaret howell plus shirt – kenneth grange and margaret howell; melonia shoe – naim josefi and souzan youssouf; ohne titel spring/summer ’11 – flora gill and alexa adams; organic jewellery collection, brazil – flavia amadeu tess giberson spring/summer ’11, shift – tess giberson, carol bove, alia raza; uniqlo +j autumn/winter’10 – jil sander for uniqlo.

2011 brit insurance design awards shortlist ‘drop table’ by junya ishigami

furniture nominees branca – industrial facility, sam hecht, kim colin, ippei matsumoto; collec+ors collection – khai liew, kirsten coelho, gwyn hanssen pigott, bruce nuske, prue venables, julie blyfield, jessica loughlin; drop table – junya ishigami manufactured by living divani; dune – rainer mutsch manufactured by eternit; endless – dirk vander kooij; origin part i: join – bcxsy in collaboration with mr tanaka; plytube – seongyong lee; sayl task chair – yves behar and fuseproject, manufactured by herman miller; solo bench – domingos totora, manufactured by touch; spun – thomas heatherwick studio, manufactured by magis; thin black lines – nendo exhibited by phillips de pury & company at the saatchi gallery, london; vigna chair – martino gamper, manufactured by magis.

2011 brit insurance design awards shortlist ‘sayl chairs’ by yves béhar in collaboration with herman miller

2011 brit insurance design awards shortlist ‘thin black lines’ by nendo

graphic nominees a love letter for you – stephen powers with the city of philadelphia mural arts program; coalition of the willing – knife party written by tim rayner, voice over artist colin tierne; design criminals edible catalogue – andreas pohancenik; four corners familiars series – john morgan studio and collaborators; homemade is best – forsman & bodenfors for ikea; irma boom: biography in books – irma boom published by grafsiche cultuurstichting I wonder – marian bantjes published by thames & hudson; london college of communication summer show ’10 – studio myerscough: the life and opinions of tristram shandy, gentleman – a practice for everyday life, published by visual editions; unit editions – tony brook and adrian shaughnessy; a love letter for you – stephen powers with the city of philadelphia mural arts programme;

interactive nominees angry birds – rovio mobile; cellscope – professor daniel fletcher and the cellscope team, aardman animation, wieden + kennedy commissioned by nokia; e.chromi – alexandra daisy ginsburg, james king in collaboration with cambridge university’s igem team; flipboard – mike mccue and evan doll; guardian eyewitness app – the guardian technology team (jonathan moore, alastair dent, andy brockie, martin redington and roger tooth); mimosa – jason bruges studio for philips lumiblade; paint – greyworld for nokia; reactable mobile – reactable systems; rock band 3 – harmonix music systems; speed of light – united visual artists commissioned by virgin media; the elements ipad app – touchpress written by theodore gray; the johnny cash project – chris milk, aaron koblin, radical meda, rick rubin, the cash estate; wallpaper* custom covers – meirion pritchard developed by kin, content by anthony burrill, james joyce, hort, kam tang and nigel robinson; wired magazine app – scott dadich and jeremy clark, conde nast digital.

2011 brit insurance design awards shortlist ‘speed of light’ by united visual artists

product nominees act fire extinguisher – sigrun vik; amplify chandelier – yves behar and fuseproject for swarovski; apple ipad – apple; blueware collection – studio glithero; contemplating monolithic design – barberosgerby and sony design, exhibition design by universal design studios; universal gown – ben de lisi; diamant coffin series – jacob jensen design, manufactured by tommerup kister; dyson air multiplier fan – james dyson; freecom cls mobile drive – sylvain willenz, manufactured by freecom; flying future – ingo maurer; in-betweening clock – hye-yeon park; intimate rider – alan tholkes; leveraged freedom chair – mit mobility laboratory one arm drive system – mark own and jon owen, manufactured by nomad wheelchairs ltd; pavegen – pavegen systems ltd; playing with lego blocks and paper – muji and lego; plumen 001 – hulger + samuel wilkinson; prampack – kadabra produktdesign, invented by anne morkemo, manufactured by stokke; quarz series – max lamb, manufactured by j & l lobmeyr; see better to learn better – yves behar and fuseproject in partnership with augen optics; wall piercing – designed by ron gilad, manufactured by flos; yii, taiwan – conceived by national taiwan craft research institute (ntcri) and taiwan design center (tdc), creative direction by gijs bakker.

2011 brit insurance design awards shortlist ‘plumen 100’ light bulb by hulger

2011 brit insurance design awards shortlist ‘brick plan’ by rock wang for yii design

transport nominees barclays cycle hire – serco, transport for london; dezir – laurens van den acker for renault; *en-v – general motors; fiat 500 twinair – fiat style and fpt fiat powertrain; riversimple – riversimple; vanmoof no 5 – vanmoof; yikebike – grant ryan.

2011 brit insurance design awards shortlist renault dezir